WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2018-12-24 @ 11:01

Heroes of Annihilated Empires

DGVoodoo2 offers a solution (WIP54/DX9) to run this game on win7/64bit or even higher (not tested). The typical Video errors of the game are gone and letters of menues are readable now.
The only thing as far i have tested is that startmenus stick in the top left corner and are not resized by the wrapper. The game itself and ingame menus look good.
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby Deffnator » 2018-12-25 @ 19:53

Deffnator wrote:Resident Evil 3/Biohazard 3 Sourcenext (2006) with the restoration patch
this port uses DX9 and it supports resolutions up to 1600x1200
-Texture filtering and Antialiasing doesn't work well, it has lines all over the scenarios.
-Wobbly and warping models, something that was fixed on this port, but dgvoodoo undoes it.

Here's what it looks like (same applies to RE3 using the HD mod) even with Voodoo2 activated
https://imgur.com/a/gLSjWKN

RE 3 has the same problem, mainly with Anti Aliasing and Ambient occlusion
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-12-29 @ 15:20

Deffnator wrote:
Deffnator wrote:Resident Evil 3/Biohazard 3 Sourcenext (2006) with the restoration patch
this port uses DX9 and it supports resolutions up to 1600x1200
-Texture filtering and Antialiasing doesn't work well, it has lines all over the scenarios.
-Wobbly and warping models, something that was fixed on this port, but dgvoodoo undoes it.

Here's what it looks like (same applies to RE3 using the HD mod) even with Voodoo2 activated
https://imgur.com/a/gLSjWKN

RE 3 has the same problem, mainly with Anti Aliasing and Ambient occlusion



that looks typical like when you trying to using 2d-filtering on games that use very low resolution textures or small sprites to "build" textures, that is sensitive to pixel position.
make sure to use nearest neighbor. Or set the dgcontrol panel to app driven texture filtering.
As far as I know, Dege has not release any version where you could select to only filtering textures on 3d model and leave 2d alone, like some playstation emulators do, to prevent bad rendering on sensitive sprites.
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby Deffnator » 2018-12-29 @ 19:36

batterymandark wrote:
Deffnator wrote:
Deffnator wrote:Resident Evil 3/Biohazard 3 Sourcenext (2006) with the restoration patch
this port uses DX9 and it supports resolutions up to 1600x1200
-Texture filtering and Antialiasing doesn't work well, it has lines all over the scenarios.
-Wobbly and warping models, something that was fixed on this port, but dgvoodoo undoes it.

Here's what it looks like (same applies to RE3 using the HD mod) even with Voodoo2 activated
https://imgur.com/a/gLSjWKN

RE 3 has the same problem, mainly with Anti Aliasing and Ambient occlusion



that looks typical like when you trying to using 2d-filtering on games that use very low resolution textures or small sprites to "build" textures, that is sensitive to pixel position.
make sure to use nearest neighbor. Or set the dgcontrol panel to app driven texture filtering.
As far as I know, Dege has not release any version where you could select to only filtering textures on 3d model and leave 2d alone, like some playstation emulators do, to prevent bad rendering on sensitive sprites.


it would be interesting if he applies that in the future
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-12-31 @ 12:26

I didn't have much time recently, so don't expect much, but I have a new WIP (end of the year edition :D):

=========================
WIP55:
=========================

- Multiple Render Targets (4 for the Internal Virtual card) with independent write masks (D3D9)
- All 16 bit norm/float + 32 bit float texture formats are supported (D3D9)
- Supporting the same color formats for volume textures that are available for 2d/cube textures
(except P8, D3D8/9)
- Support for auto-generating mipmaps for 2d/cube textures (D3D9)
- Support for SRGB texture sampling (D3D9, The Sims 3)
- Support for SRGB render target (D3D9)
- Bug in ps_2_x validator, fixed (The Sims 3)
- Fixing D3D9 depth bias
- Support for USHORT2/4N and FLOAT16_2/4 vertex component formats (D3D9)
- Some fixes in the D3D9 debug layer
- Other small fixes and optimizations

http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP55.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP55_dbg.zip

I still couldn't test most of the reported games, so I'm going to be interested mostly in regression bugs for a while.
Unigine engine and Dragon Age Origins still don't work, known issue.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1327
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-12-31 @ 12:30

Deffnator wrote:it would be interesting if he applies that in the future

I didn't yet test remastered RE3 but it indeed seems to be bad texture tile shrounding.
But, it's very hard if not impossible to recognize what polygons are 2d and what are 3d.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1327
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby Deffnator » 2018-12-31 @ 14:04

Dege wrote:
Deffnator wrote:it would be interesting if he applies that in the future

I didn't yet test remastered RE3 but it indeed seems to be bad texture tile shrounding.
But, it's very hard if not impossible to recognize what polygons are 2d and what are 3d.

peixoto may help you with that

also testing with Need for Speed: Most Wanted 2005, found no problems with msaa and antistropy, and high res, though the Rearview Mirror has occlusion and shows borders
Deffnator
Newbie
 
Posts: 36
Joined: 2018-9-05 @ 01:03

Re: WIP versions

Postby RJ8 » 2018-12-31 @ 15:22

Thanks Dege fror the WIP. Best wishes for 2019 !
RJ
RJ8
Newbie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: 2016-4-14 @ 15:56
Location: Germany

Re: WIP versions

Postby batterymandark » 2018-12-31 @ 15:41

Dege wrote:
Deffnator wrote:it would be interesting if he applies that in the future

I didn't yet test remastered RE3 but it indeed seems to be bad texture tile shrounding.
But, it's very hard if not impossible to recognize what polygons are 2d and what are 3d.

could it be possible to detect the size of a texture, let say to not filter textures less than 64 pixels,. as an option
batterymandark
Newbie
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2013-9-14 @ 08:20

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-12-31 @ 19:12

RJ8 wrote:Thanks Dege fror the WIP. Best wishes for 2019 !
RJ

+1 !
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-12-31 @ 21:16

UT3 working BUT with Depth (?) issues:

Image
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-1-01 @ 10:39

Benchmark in Aquamark 3 (B3D9 tweak + nvidia game profile removed from the game/application profiles DB / application name modified)

dgVoodoo2:
Image

MS:
Image

Why the gamma/brightness is different? (take a look at the fullscreen *PNG* image) It's about some texture format management?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dreadmoth » 2019-1-04 @ 16:21

dgVoodoo WIP 54 and later seem to have stopped forcing games to render 32-bit colour:

Shogo + WIP53 and earlier
Shogo + WIP54 and later

Is there a setting that might restore the old behaviour?
Windows 7 64-bit | Intel Core i7-4770 @ 3.4GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Ti Titanium 8GB | Samsung S23A700D, 1920x1080@120Hz | Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3, 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24 | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB (system) | WD Black 2TB (storage)
User avatar
Dreadmoth
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-4-28 @ 16:43
Location: Australia

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2019-1-04 @ 18:05

RJ8 wrote:Thanks Dege fror the WIP. Best wishes for 2019 !
RJ

Thanks!
Happy new year to everybody!

lowenz wrote:Why the gamma/brightness is different? (take a look at the fullscreen *PNG* image) It's about some texture format management?

Must be related to pixel shader internals, but I can't see significant difference. Maybe a +/- 1 bias in rgb components.

lowenz wrote:UT3 working BUT with Depth (?) issues:

Some problem with 'occlusion query' issuing... I fixed it along with some other D3D object handling bugs (crash at loading certain game levels) but still there are some rendering bugs.

Dreadmoth wrote:dgVoodoo WIP 54 and later seem to have stopped forcing games to render 32-bit colour:

Shogo + WIP53 and earlier
Shogo + WIP54 and later

Is there a setting that might restore the old behaviour?

Uhmm... no, it's a nice regression bug. Thx for the feedback, I fixed it and will include in the next WIP.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1327
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2019-1-04 @ 19:33

Hi Dege!

Did you see in my benchmark report screenshots the performance *pit* in the "High Particle Count" test of Aquamark3? Any hypothesis about?
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1033
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby FulValBot » 2019-1-04 @ 20:52

Painkiller Black Edition (and all other, except Hell & Damnation): it works only with "unspecified", "centered" and "stretched" scaling mode options; only a black screen with all other

black screen also with 640x480 (in game options, and this with all scalers)
FulValBot
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2008-3-01 @ 18:43

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2019-1-05 @ 12:17

Bad Day LA
Boiling Point - Road to Hell
Call of Cthulhu - Dark Corners of the Earth
Dreamfall - The Longest Journey
Dungeons and Dragons - Dragonshard
Earth 2160
Kohan II - Kings of War
Raiden III
Starship Troopers

No change, all still have the same issues I mentioned previously.

F.E.A.R
Renders gun correctly when close to wall now, but still frequently does some texture glitching directly after loading:
FEAR 2019-01-05 13-12-27-87.jpg
FEAR 2019-01-05 13-12-28-86.jpg

F.E.A.R 2
Renders correctly now, but performance is sort of bad. Probably shader compilation related as I reloaded the segment that stuttered pretty badly and it ran smoothly the second time.
FEAR2 2019-01-05 13-07-49-87.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1270
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby roshiahito » 2019-1-06 @ 03:23

Spore
Still doesn't start, I just get a "Configuration Script failed. [2000]" error.
Log attached.
Attachments
spore.log
(12.04 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
roshiahito
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2018-8-30 @ 10:45

Previous

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest